Your shopping basket contains 0 item
Save £1.23Ref.: 217237
Online : sent within 7 days
Shipping: from £8806.03
Woodbrass price
Public Price


Haydn, Joseph
Symphony G major Hob. I:92 "Oxford"

Like its companions Nos. 90 and 91, Haydn’s Symphony No. 92 in G major was written in 1789. All three symphonies were commissioned in 1788 by Prince Kraft Ernst von Oettingen-Wallerstein, who was to be granted exclusive ownership. However, Haydn first sold the works to the Parisian Masonic lodge Société Olympique and was thus unable to fulfil his obligation to send the autograph scores to the prince.

The symphony received its nickname “Oxford” in the 19th century, probably in connection with a performance that took place when Haydn received an honorary doctorate from Oxford University in 1791.

This edition continues the collaboration between Bärenreiter and the Henle publishing company regarding Haydn’s large-scale choral works, operas and symphonies. It is based on the Henle Complete Edition of the “Works of Joseph Haydn”. Bärenreiter has published the complete performance material for several “Sturm und Drang” symphonies and all of the London and Paris symphonies.

• Based on the Henle Complete Edition of the “Works of Joseph Haydn”
• Orchestral parts in a large format (25.5 x 32.5 cm)

Edition no.: BA 10977
ISMN: 9790006559886
Editor: Friesenhagen, Andreas
Language(s) of text: English, German
Product format: Score, Urtext edition
Includes the following individual parts: Orchestra
Binding: Stapled
Pages / Format: IV, 53 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Brand reference number:BA10977
Similar items
Related Accessories
Sales & Advice
Call Center
kevin_c - thibaud_h
Contact Kevin: Local call rate UK 0845 686 8094
International 0033 240 382 948
Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm.