Your shopping basket contains 0 item
Save £0.27Ref.: 122411
Online : sent within 20 days
Shipping: from £8.94
Woodbrass price
Public Price


Edition no.: BA10039-90
ISMN: 9790006541447
Editor: Dürr, Alfred / Freeman, Robert / Webster, James
Arranger: Eichhorn, Joachim
Language(s) of work: German, English
Language(s) of text: German, English
Product format: Piano reduction, Urtext edition
Binding: Stapled
Pages / Format: IV, 50 Seiten - 27,0 x 19,0 cm

This cantata for the First Sunday after Trinity, first performed in 1726, is one of the most musically attractive compositions composed by Bach during his time as cantor at St. Thomas Church, Leipzig.
In its alternating scoring for oboes, recorders and strings, the opulently-structured opening chorus describes the gesture of the breaking of bread. The arias and recitatives for the two soloists, alto and tenor show Bach at the peak of his compositional powers. The two-part cantata concludes with a simple chorus.

- Urtext edition based on the "New Bach Edition"
- Richly coloured scoring using recorders and oboes
- Vocal score (Ger/Eng), foreword (Ger/Eng)

1. Vorwort

2. Preface

3. 1. (Chorus) Break with hungry men thy bread

4. 2. Recitativo (Basso): The bounteous God

5. 3. Aria (Alto): One's creator while on earth yet

6. Second part:

7. 4. (Basso) To do good and share your blessings

8. 5. Aria (Soprano): Highest, my possessions

9. 6. Recitativo (Alto): How shall I then, O Lord

10. 7. Choral: Blessed those who through compassion
Brand reference number:BA1003990
Similar items
Sales & Advice
Call Center
kevin_c - thibaud_h
Contact Kevin: Local call rate UK 0845 686 8094
International 0033 240 382 948
Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm.