Your shopping basket contains 0 item
Save £2.76Ref.: 122421
Online : sent within 7 days
Shipping: from £8374.68
Woodbrass price
Public Price


Edition no.: BA9045
ISMN: 9790006537648
Editor: Del Mar, Jonathan
Language(s) of text: English, Czech, German
Product format: Score, Urtext edition
Includes the following individual parts: Violoncello Solo, Orchestra
Binding: Cardboard binding
Pages / Format: VIII, 118 Seiten - 31,0 x 24,3 cm

Like every other great 19th-century solo concerto, Dvorák’s famous Cello Concerto was a collaboration between composer and virtuoso. It has long been known that certain solo passages in Dvorák’s autograph score were actually written by the cellist Hanuš Wihan; but Bärenreiter’s edition now reveals that some details in the orchestral parts are also in his writing, showing just how closely the two musicians were working together.

The editor Jonathan Del Mar has painstakingly examined all the surviving sources, including two that have hitherto been either ignored or crucially undervalued, in order to produce an authoritative edition which restores – for the first time since the original edition was published in 1896 - Dvorák’s final and definitive version of the solo cello part. This differs, in details, in almost every bar from the version found in all other modern editions, while hundreds of corrections have also been made to the orchestral parts.

• With Dvorák’s final and definitive version of the solo cello part
• With hundreds of corrections in the solo cello part as well as the orchestral parts
• With hitherto unknown details regarding the collaboration between Dvorák and Wihan
• With Dvorák’s original piano reduction
• With Feuermann's and Casals' alternatives to a passage in the first movement
Brand reference number:BA9045
Similar items
Sales & Advice
Call Center
kevin_c - thibaud_h
Contact Kevin: Local call rate UK 0845 686 8094
International 0033 240 382 948
Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm.