Your shopping basket contains 0 item
Save £0.72Ref.: 128458
Online : within 2 weeks (+)
Shipping: from £8.94
Woodbrass price
Public Price


Suites 1, 2

Our new edition of the Suites op. 2 is based
on the 1708 first print and on the "Nouvelle Edition"
of 1715. While the first print was still set
in old-fashioned type, the second edition appeared
engraved in the far more elegant copperplate. Both
editions present pieces for two flutes (with a "Basse
adjoutée" in the 1715 print) at the end of the
volume, as well as the Echo pieces for solo flute.
These ECOS appear in the flute part of the first
volume of our edition, while the Duos are published
separately (BP 1786).
The 1715 edition contains a wealth of ornaments,
which the composer considered vital for the
performance of his works; we therefore urge players
to consult the "Avertissement" and the table of
ornaments reproduced on page 24 of the score.
The 5th movement of the 3rd Suite "Le Plaintif
" is headed "Tres Lentement" in the first print,
and "tendrement" in the second. On Hotteterre's
recommendation, instead of the transverse flute all
these pieces can also be played on recorder, oboe,
violin, descant gamba or as harpsichord solos; in
our edition we have followed the composer's advice
and transposed them a minor third upwards for
treble recorder. Winfried Michel
Brand reference number:BP988
Similar items
Related Accessories
Sales & Advice
Call Center
kevin_c - thibaud_h
Contact Kevin: Local call rate UK 0845 686 8094
International 0033 240 382 948
Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm.