Your shopping basket contains 0 item
SALESave £21.83Ref.: 141507
Online : immediate shipping (+)
Shipping: from £8.94
Woodbrass price
Public Price


Monteverdi’s opera “L’Orfeo”, based on the legend of Thracian singer Orpheus and his love of Eurydice, is a masterpiece of musical declamation and ornamentation. It was first performed during the 1607 carnevale in the “Palazzo Ducale” in Mantua.

When an edition remains true to its sources, this certainly does not mean that it is not also practical to use, as is demonstrated in this Bärenreiter edition of Monteverdi’s “L’Orfeo”. Edited by Rinaldo Alessandrini, the new publication follows the Bärenreiter edition of Monteverdi’s “Il ritorno d’Ulisse in patria”.

Two contemporary prints of “L’Orfeo” from the years 1609 and 1615 have been passed down to us. Four copies of each of these prints still survive today in public libraries. The later print includes many corrections to the earlier edition and was accordingly used as the primary source for this Bärenreiter edition. However, when solving musical problems the editor frequently follows the more coherent style of the earlier print. The numerous interesting variants, not only between the two editions but also amongst the eight surviving copies, are listed in the critical commentary.

This edition of “L’Orfeo” offers in addition to Monteverdi’s somewhat sparse original figures also figures added to the bass line by the editor. The continuo player should, however, feel free to follow his own judgment. The notation has been, when necessary, adapted to suit modern practice, for example with regard to the clefs. The sections that were originally written in “chiavetta” have been transposed a fifth lower. In the appendix these sections also appear in their original notation in facsimile as well as transposed a fourth lower.

- Detailed introduction by the editor (Ital/Eng/Ger) on the work’s genesis and performance practice
- Comprehensive critical commentary (Eng) in the score
- Idiomatic piano reduction

Edition no.: BA 8793-90
ISMN: 9790006533121
Composer / Author: Monteverdi, Claudio
Title: L'Orfeo
Favola in musica in one prologue and five acts
Detailed instrumentation: Soprano solo (7), Tenor solo (4), Bass solo (3), Mixed choir: SSATTB, Male choir: TTBBB, Orchestra
Librettist: Striggio, Alessandro (junior)
Editor: Alessandrini, Rinaldo
Foreword / Introduction: Alessandrini, Rinaldo
Product format: Piano reduction, Urtext edition
Language(s) of work: Italian
Language(s) of text: German, Italian, English
Publisher: Bärenreiter
Binding: Paperback
Print run: 1st printing 2012
Pages / Format: XIV, 143 S. - 27,0 x 19,0 cm
Weight: 428 g

Brand reference number:BA879390
Similar items
Sales & Advice
Call Center
kevin_c - thibaud_h
Contact Kevin: Local call rate UK 0845 686 8094
International 0033 240 382 948
Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm.