Your shopping basket contains 0 item
Save £1.18Ref.: 142134
Online : more than 4 weeks (+)
Shipping: from £8.94
Woodbrass price
Public Price


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1792)
Requiem KV 626
Contemporary adaptation for string quartet by Peter Lichtenthal (1780-1853)

Set de parties

For the physician, composer and musicologist Peter Lichtenthal of Milan the music of Mozart - whom he considered to be a true genius - was always the measure of all things. In order to also make the larger-scale pieces available to circles of aficionados, Lichtenthal arranged several works by Mozart for smaller chamber music formations. These included also Mozart's Requiem arranged for string quartet, which is presented here in print for the first time. Lichtenthal probably worked from the first edition, which had been completed by Franz Xaver Süssmayr and published in 1800 by Breitkopf & Härtel, Leipzig. Even with a work as widely known today as Mozart's Requiem, this concentrated view through the prism of the string quartet provides us with a new, or at least a different manner of approaching the piece.
Brand reference number:G089
Similar items
Sales & Advice
Call Center
kevin_c - thibaud_h
Contact Kevin: Local call rate UK 0845 686 8094
International 0033 240 382 948
Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm.