Your shopping basket contains 0 item
Save £0.67Ref.: 145351
Online : sent within 7 days
Shipping: from £8.42
Woodbrass price
Public Price


Edition no.: BA 10256
ISMN: 9790006536535
Editor: Blaut, Stephan
Language(s) of work: Latin
Language(s) of text: German, English
Product format: Vocal score, Urtext edition
Includes the following individual parts: Soprano solo, Basso continuo
Binding: Stapled
Pages / Format: VI, 26 Seiten - 30,0 x 23,0 cm

Between 1728 and 1747 Handel composed these nine two-part movements for soprano and instrumental bass. Though speculation exists, the occasion for which the pieces were composed as well as the exact date of their composition remain unknown.

The soprano sings short liturgical phrases such as “Amen”, “Allelujah”, “Alleluja, amen” or “Amen, alleluia”. The editor has supplied a text for the movement HWV 275, which until now has, for reasons unknown, been without text. The Amen and Hallelujah movements are in easy keys (using up to one sharp or two flats) and the modulations rarely move to harmonically distant tonal areas. Handel figured the bassline very detailed which plays mostly an accompanying, supportive role, imitating the voice in a few places. The vocal part is distinguished by the repetition of motives, by repeated notes but also by short or extended coloratura. Presumably these movements were intended for use in teaching.

Today these short movements of between 25 and 76 bars lend themselves well to use in church services.

- Based on the Urtext of the “Halle Handel Edition”
- Idiomatic realization of the continuo part
Brand reference number:BA10256
Similar items
Related Accessories
Sales & Advice
Call Center
kevin_c - thibaud_h
Contact Kevin: Local call rate UK 0845 686 8094
International 0033 240 382 948
Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm.