Your shopping basket contains 0 item
Ref.: 158205
Online : sent within 20 days
Shipping: from £8.41
Woodbrass price


Arcangelo Corelli, the violin virtuoso of his time, published his “Sonatas for Violin and Basso continuo opus V” in Rome in 1700. These sonatas are a compendium of violin playing of his time and laid the groundwork for future violin compositions.

Over the years the sonatas have been published in nearly 100 editions, all based on Corelli’s first edition which contains only the solo violin line above an unrealized bass line. Today, the sonatas are well known in numerous modern continuo realizations. However a realization from Corelli’s time by Antonio Tonelli also exists and is presented here for the first time in a modern performing edition. This realization is surprising in that it contains full chords, sometimes played by both hands.

In addition, Bärenreiter’s new scholarly-critical edition includes many embellishments. For the most part they have been found in handwritten documents by Tartini, Geminiani, McGibbon, Dubourg and Roger (from a re-print of the sonatas from c. 1710). These embellishments are presented in a separate booklet which players can place alongside Corelli’s original on the music stand.

Complementing this Urtext edition are a historical introduction, a critical commentary and an appendix containing preludes to the sonatas for keyboard by Tonelli as well as a selection of embellished keyboard movements by Corelli’s contemporaries.

- Score with realization of the basso continuo by Tonelli as well as Corelli’s unrealized figured bass line
- With a separate Urtext violin part
- With a separate unrealized figured continuo part
- Includes a separate booklet with embellishments
- Appendix with source descriptions, critical commentary (Eng) and preludes for keyboard instrument by Tonelli

Edition no.: BA 9456
ISMN: 9790006535125
Editor: Hogwood, Christopher / Mark, Ryan
Language(s) of text: English, German
Product format: Performance score(s), Set of parts, Anthology, Urtext edition
Includes the following individual parts: Violin, Basso continuo
Binding: Paperback
Pages / Format: XXVI, 67/19/34/43 S. - 31,0 x 24,3 cm
Brand reference number:BA9456
Similar items
Related Accessories
Sales & Advice
Call Center
kevin_c - thibaud_h
Contact Kevin: Local call rate UK 0845 686 8094
International 0033 240 382 948
Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm.