Your shopping basket contains 0 item
Ref.: 259307
Online : within 2 weeks (+)
Shipping: from £8.94
Woodbrass price
Public Price


Debussy, Claude
Works for Violin and Piano

Edition no.BA 9444
ISMN 9790006559862

Editor Woodfull-Harris, Douglas
Language(s) of text English, French, German

Claude Debussy had difficulties finishing his last major work, the Sonata for Violin and Piano. This can be seen in the many drafts which have been handed down and the fact that the cycle for which it was conceived was left unfinished. The melancholy work originated under the impact of the First World War.

The first edition, published during the final year of Debussy’s life, contains many rhythmic errors. The non-autograph metronome marks and the discrepancies between the separate violin part and the violin part in small print in the piano score are two problems that have affected the work’s later reception. Both are examined here in a fresh light.

In addition to the Sonata, this edition contains arrangements of La fille aux cheveux de lin, Il pleure dans mon coeur and Minstrels by the American violinist Arthur Hartmann. It was Hartmann who inspired Debussy to make his own arrangement of the well-known piano piece Minstrels, also included in our edition.

- Debussy’s complete works for violin and piano
- With arrangements by Debussy’s acquaintance Hartmann
- Informative Foreword (Eng/Fr/Ger)
- Critical Commentary (Eng)
Brand reference number:BA9444
Similar items
Sales & Advice
Call Center
kevin_c - thibaud_h
Contact Kevin: Local call rate UK 0845 686 8094
International 0033 240 382 948
Monday to Friday from 9am to 7pm
Saturday from 10am to 6pm.