basket
Your shopping basket contains 0 item
Total £0.00
To my shopping basket
France
fr en
België
fr en nl
Portugal
pt en
Luxembourg
fr en
Italia
it en
Deutschland
de en
Schweiz
Österreich
de en
Nederland
nl en
España
es en
Other EU Countries
en

The history of empirical labs

Empirical Labs Inc. (ELI), designs and manufactures professional audio signal processing equipment used in recording studios, live sound, broadcast studios and other audio production facilities all over the world. They also produce plug ins for digital audio workstations (DAWS) and software for digital signal processors.

ELI was started in 1988 and functioned mainly as a recording studio and electronic consulting firm. The founder, Dave Derr, was also employed at the time by Eventide as an audio engineer where he was part of the core design team for the H3000, H3500, and DSP4000. His experience at Eventide proved invaluable for his later work. While working alongside Ken Bogdanowicz and Bob Belcher (both now at Sound Toys), Dave was exposed to state of the art engineering and the modern world of digital signal processing (DSP).

The first Empirical Labs product – the Distressor – was designed in 1994, tested and revised for several years, and released in 1996. With over twenty thousand units sold, it has unquestionably become a modern classic. In 1998, Empirical Labs closed the doors of the recording studio to focus on the growing signal processing business. Later that year, the company picked up and moved to a larger facility to meet their increased production requirements.

Today, all Empirical Labs products are still manufactured in the USA and rigorously calibrated and tested by hand.  Thety take great pride in the quality, workmanship and robustness of everything that leaves our factory. It’s important to us that our gear works as well years from now as it does the day you open it for the first time.

 

The Empirical Labs philosophy is extremely simple, but very hard to live up to: They “want to make products that work a little easier, a little better, and a lot longer - and make sure they’re fun to use."

 

The word "Empirical" in its most positive interpretation means, "fashioned from experience".  Design by textbook typically yields generic products, which are rarely as exciting as those born from a lot of thinking, tinkering and field use.They consider real world use to be one of the best resources in developing innovative, user-friendly and robust designs. Before final release, all their products are extensively tested in the environments for which they are designed.

 

Another major goal of Empirical Labs has always been to make their products less prone to obsolescence and be easy to update, modify or repair. Instead of entire new products that may be outdated in two years, we’d rather make a few great products that can be supported and upgraded for decades.

panier
Vous avez 0 article dans votre panier
Total 0.00€
Voir mon panier
France
fr en
België
fr en nl
Portugal
pt en
United Kingdom
en
Luxembourg
fr en
Italia
it en
Deutschland
de en
Schweiz
Österreich
de en
Nederland
nl en
España
es en
United States
en

L'histoire de empirical labs

Empirical Labs Inc. (ELI), conçoit et fabrique des processeurs de signaux audio professionnels, utilisés dans les studios d’enregistrement, le direct, productions radio ou autres productions audio partout dans le monde. La marque fabrique également des plugins pour des workstations audio numériques ainsi que des logiciels pour des processeurs de signaux numériques.

1988, ELI a été principalement créé en tant que studio d’enregistrement et entreprise de consulting en équipement électronique. A l’époque, le fondateur Dave Derr, était employé au sein de la société Eventide en tant que ingénieur du son, où il faisait partie de l’équipe en charge de la conception des modèles H3000, H3500 et DSP4000. Une expérience professionnelle précieuse pour son futur travail. En travaillant aux côtés de Ken Bogdanowicz et Bob Belcher (tous les deux chez Sound Toys aujourd’hui), Dave a été initié aux techniques de pointe et au monde moderne des processeurs de signaux.

Le tout premier produit de Empirical Labs – le Distressor – a été conçu en 1994, testé et perfectionné pendant plusieurs années pour faire son entrée sur le marché en 1996. Avec plus de vingt milles exemplaires vendus, le Distressor est incontestablement devenu un classique moderne. En 1998, Empirical Labs a cessé son activité de studio d’enregistrement dans le but de se consacrer exclusivement au business grandissant des processeurs de signaux.

Ajourd’hui, l’ensemble des produits Empirical Labs est fabriqué aux Etats Unis, calibré rigoureusement et testé manuellement pour pouvoir garantir un résultat de qualité et de robustesse pour chaque produit qui quitte l’usine. Même après de nombreuses années d’utilisation tout doit fonctionner comme au premier jour.

La Philosophie de Empirical Labs est simple mais pas facile à atteindre pour autant : « Fabriquer des produits qui sont un peu plus facile à utiliser, qui fonctionnent un peu mieux et bien plus longtemps que d’autres, tout en étant ludiques »

En outre, Empirical Labs met tout en œuvre pour éviter que les produits deviennent obsolètes trop rapidement et pour assurer une possibilité de mise à jour, de réglage ou de réparation facile. A la place de lancements de produits réguliers qui deviennent obsolètes deux ans après, Empirical Labs préfère sortir quelques produits phares seulement, qui pourront par la suite être mis à jour régulièrement et être utilisés ainsi pendant des dizaines d’années.

critères sélectionnés
empirical labs